Alexander Ovechkin Wins Ted Lindsay Award

WASHINGTON DC, DC - APRIL 23: Alex Ovechkin #8 of the Washington Capitals skates against the Montreal Canadiens in Game Five of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals during the 2010 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs at the Verizon Center on April 23, 2010 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)

Up next is the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the “Most Outstanding Player” as voted from the National Hockey League Players Association. The award was previously named the Lester B. Pearson Award, and is often a pre-cursor for the Hart Trophy. Nominees this year include Sidney Crosby from Pittsburgh, Alexander Ovechkin from Washington and Henrik Sedin from Vancouver. The nominees are the same as the nominees for the Hart Trophy.

And the winner is… Alexander Ovechkin.

Impressive run of three straight wins, despite putting up the fewest points in any of his three wins. This year he netted 50 goals, 59 assists and 109 points. Not too shabby. Congratulations to Ovechkin, though I’d bet he’d trade all three for a Stanley Cup one of these days…

Next Kings Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct1:00Columbus Blue JacketsBuy Tickets

Tags: Alexander Ovechkin Henrik Sedin Pittsburgh Penguins Sidney Crosby Ted Lindsay Award Vancouver Canucks Washington Capitals

comments powered by Disqus